nursetoartist

A journey from the hospital to the studio

Silence broken!

6 Comments

It’s been a long time. I have excuses- none very good. So I’m just going to move on.
Lately, I’ve been doing nothing but
boring drawing exercises and when I draw something, I hate it. I have been encouraged by many of my loved ones lately. They tell me this is normal in the creative process. So, I’ve loosened up a bit and with the encouragement of one if my tutors. Here is the making of a new- kinda abstract piece.

20140508-161530.jpg

20140508-161542.jpg

20140508-161605.jpg

20140508-161626.jpg
This is called “wind swept tree”
It started out from a sketch of a tree at the beach in my sketchbook.
Enjoy,
Leigh

6 thoughts on “Silence broken!

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE!! πŸ˜€ great job hun

  2. I wouldn’t say it’s so abstract. But, the color “wash” final is bursting with energy like a storm blowing over the water.

    I understand the frustration with imperfection. I can be a harsh judge of others’ work. So, don’t let yourself get upset or mad from my opinions. And, even if you aren’t, just wait:P

    I could use more encouragement. Yet, when I get some, I tend to question/criticize it. I’m difficult/complex. But, sometimes, the compliments seem unfitting. Or, people expect something of me without putting in any effort/contribution themselves.

    • You’re right! It is more of an ink wash πŸ™‚
      But it felt good washing that ink all over. I’ve been stuck doing pencil practice for what feels like years.

      • Exactly what it should do (as therapy for the soul). I don’t get that good feeling doing my pencil and ink sketches. I get more nervous than I do happy until it just turns out right. Which is a 50/50 situation. Half the time I am not happy. If not more often. Bah. I am terrible at practice:P I took classes in and out of school. But, I didn’t learn much. I’ve been “practicing” from examples (photos, ads, posters, saved/frozen TV images, comic books, etc.) since my youth. When I get mad at myself for not reproducing the original, I turn to creating more original pieces without comparisons. That’ll loosen you up.

  3. If I had the option…if money and food weren’t so important…if the summer sun and winter freeze weren’t too harsh and the rain didn’t wash me away…if paper and pencil/ink were infinite…I could probably spend a lifetime at the beach capturing drift wood, seashells, sea/beach life and beach bums:) I might get bored after a while and seek out a forest divided by sun beams, but… πŸ™‚

  4. You are so talented!! Love you, Kay

Leave a Reply

